Autobiography

Hi. My name is Maddy Birnbaum. I was born in New York City and lived there for the first 6 years of my life. When my parents split I moved 30 minutes outside the city. Now that some of my friends are going to school there, I basically live in the city again and plan to move there when i graduate. I love that there is always something to do, everyone has to be somewhere and the liveliness. The one thing that I appreciate, but could never get used to in Rome, is how everyone moves so slowly. Eating dinner takes over an hour and they walk like they have no where to be. I like to get in, get out, get the check, on to the next etc. I am always rushing, which is not a good thing, but I get everything done. My mother always said, “Give a busy person something to do and it will get done.” I would say that is how I operate. It has helped me in school and in the workforce. I could graduate early but why rush the best 4 years of my life? Which is why I am here.

I go to University of Maryland, as Public Relations major and English minor. I love meeting new people, communicating with people, planning events, and using my extroverted energy to get things done. I love working hard and getting good feedback. That is my anal side. I use my creative side to write. My pet peeve is when teachers grade English papers based on their opinions and not the ability to analyze creatively. English can be so broad and that is why I love it.

I studied Spanish up until this year so everyone is shocked that I decided to study abroad in Italy. I spent a summer studying in Spain a few years ago. I only traveled Italy for 2 weeks when I was in high school and spent around 3 days in each of the main cities, Rome being my least favorite. I was young and did not appreciate the culture, so decided to give it another shot. Now I love it here. Not being able to speak the language is very difficult. Everyone said it was similar to Spanish. In my opinion, knowing Spanish makes learning this language harder because I get them confused. I am excited to take a communciations class because it is a field I love and have experience in. However, this class is different that the classes I am used to taking. It seems more creative and on the social influence side of communications rather than the public relations side. Anyway, I am looking forward to it.

I look forward to traveling Europe, seeing things I’ve never seen before or re-visiting things that I have and appreciating the different ways that people live. The next few months is definitely going to be a unique experience.

Live life to the fullest, live everyday as if it were your last, and regret nothing, because things can change at any moment and nothing is certain. Living by these moto’s have made me appreciate life, love everyone, avoid conflict and be the best person I can be.Image

Leave a Reply

