Hello!

Jefferson Memorial

Hi, My name is Sarah Blauner and I am a Junior in American University’s School of Communications in Washington D.C. I am studying Public Communications and Political Science. Washington D.C is the perfect place for my area of study, I worked in Northern Virginia on the 2012 campaign and it was one of the best experiences of my life.

I am originally from New York, I live outside the city but spent a large portion of my youth in my Grandparents home in NYC which is located one block from the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Growing up in such close proximity to the MET really sparked my interest in the Art world. I used to paint but I now focus more in photography, especially after a course in visual literacy that really taught me about the depth behind photography. I am an incredibly liberal individual and saw that media was a big influence on developing this aspect of me. After watching an excessive amount of Food Documentaries such as Food Inc I actually became a vegetarian so I have first hand experienced the power media and Art have to prompt an individual to become socially active. I am incredibly excited for this course because it seems to combine all my main interests, I think it will be a great experience for me.

Leave a Reply

