Merhaba! (Ayse Ozbay)

IMG_0571 anne iphone (3)

Hi! My name is Ayse Ozbay. I am a Film and Digital Media major with a Marketing minor at the American University of Rome. I was born and raised in Adana, a big city in the southern part of Turkey. Adana, a diverse city that can be modern and conservative at the same time, gave me my first glimpse at other cultures. In my American school, I got to meet people with different backgrounds – Spanish, Armenian, Syrian – at an early age. Growing up in a multicultural environment installed in me an appetite for other cultures. This, with my curious personality, made me eager to travel around the world and to try new things.

After high school, I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life. So I did what every person in my situation would do: moved to a new country. Due to the extreme weather conditions in that new country, Canada, I left after 2 years. After doing my fair share of travelling in North America and Europe, I came back to my side of the world, and did random internships at places such as National Geographic magazine and Turkish Economy Bank to figure out what suits me best. I was very lucky to be able to take time off from the “typical” line of life (high school – college – work) because I believe it’s very important to have a job that won’t make you miserable. As I was doing yet another internship at a local TV station, it dawned upon me that I should  go into media/film industry. Somehow I found AUR and here I am!

Living in Italy has been an interesting experience. Some days I absolutely love Rome. I wander around the city, with my mouth half open, thinking how gorgeous this city is. Other days I wait for the bus for 40 minutes and can’t find a single open pharmacy when I have a cold. Still, Italy is a great country to be living in. I traveled around quite a bit and every single city, especially the little towns, has its own charm.

Right now, I work as a student assistant at the Multimedia Lab in the Carini building. After I graduate I would like to work at an advertising agency or a production company.

 

 

Leave a Reply

