Autobiography (Sean McGuire)

543049_10151343744750379_2138327749_n

Hello all, my name is Sean McGuire and I’m a Junior Communications major from the Universityof Maryland, College Park. I am from Bergen County, New Jersey and have an older sister who is twenty-three and a younger brother who has just entered his first year of college. I am fifty percent Irish, as my dad’s parents immigrated to the United States right before he was born and fifty percent Italian, my mothers’ parents coming straight off the boat from Sicily. This is my first time being in Rome and it has been a huge lifestyle change!

I have never traveled outside of the United States before studying abroad so getting used to a new environment was quite the shock. The other big shock to my lifestyle is that this is also the first time I haven’t been playing lacrosse in the spring. I received a scholarship to play lacrosse at the University of Maryland, which is what I have been doing for the past two years. However, at the end of last year I faced what could be a career ending injury, which is what has led me here to Rome. I was then given the opportunity to travel abroad and took the chance to explore the world.

My experience thus far has been amazing! I have seen some incredible things and visited some unbelievable places, but once I leave Rome I hope to give my lacrosse career one final go for my senior year. If I am able to play I will feel truly blessed, but if not I hope to work towards my degree and attempt to get a job near my home in New York City.

Leave a Reply

