Guest Speaker: Mark Fonseca Rendeiro (March 13, 2013 in Arianna Auditorium at 12:30PM)

Mark Fonseca Rendeiro aka Bicyclemark; Portuguese-American, alternative journalist and independent podcast producer specializing in online journalism, social movements and global conflicts. 

Cairo, Egypt - 2012

Cairo, Egypt – 2012

In the year 2000 I started writing news commentary and reviews under the internet name bicyclemark, a name I was given for my preferred transportation back in New Jersey.  By 2001 I was working in Portugal when I founded the original incarnation of citizenreporter.org, then called bicyclemark’s communique. Later that year I moved to Amsterdam, where my interests turned to daily blogging with a focus on creative writing and news analysis.

In 2004, I began doing a weekly podcast related to journalism, world problems, and new media. Both the program and the site became citizenreporter.org, to this day one of the oldest and longest running independent journalism podcasts ever. Featuring guests from around the world, topics that get little attention in the mainstream press, and the occasional dispatch from me traveling in some odd corner of the world.

For the detailed story, my Biographical Wiki includes links to work samples, interviews, and articles about me. I believe a CV/Resume is not a proper way to understand someone. But here’s mine anyway: (.pdf)

Leave a Reply

