Logan Ruppel bio

Ciao! My name is Logan Ruppel and I am a Junior at the American University in Washington, DC… no relation to AU Rome. I am from Ridgewood, New Jersey but prefer hanging out in NYC rather than the suburbs. Downtown is where its at.

I am studying political science with a minor in international relations. I hope to work in public policy with a federal agency or a Congressman, or something. I am interesting in education, health care, clean energy, affordable housing, and pretty much anything that helps improve the lives of everyday people.

Having been fortunate enough to visit museums such as MoMA and the MET  in NYC and the Smithsonians in DC, I have developed a certain appreciation for art and design, even if these are not the main focus of my college studies. I particularly enjoy modern art such as Picasso, Dali, and Van Gogh (anything but Rothko) but also am a fan of Renaissance works and many others. I’m also a fan of interesting architecture, even though I know absolutely nothing about the subject. On an unrelated note, I am a huge Yankees fan.

I decided to study abroad in Rome because after visiting Italy a few years ago I knew that I wanted to spend more time here to really get to know the place. Also, Rome is a convenient location for traveling to other spots in Europe. Did I mention that I love pasta? That was probably an important factor as well.

Anyway, this semester is going to be incredible. Later!

Leave a comment